From left to right: Arvind, Xuan, Shuhao, Kyle, Brian, Clara, Kasun

In the back: Prof. Albert Michelson (‘s portrait)

(Gao group, CWRU, 3/20/2018. )

Principal Investigator

Xuan Gao (高翾)

Professor of Physics
Office: Rock 104C, Phone (216) 368-4031
Lab: A.W. Smith 419, Phone (216) 368-2578
Email: xuan.gao

Google Scholar webpage.


Honors and Awards
2013 Lee Hsun Young Scientist Award Lectureship, Chinese Academy of Sciences;2012 Outstanding Young Researcher Award, the International Organization of Chinese Physicists and Astronomers (OCPA); 2012 NSF CAREER Award; 2010 Glennan Fellowship, CWRU; 2004 Robert Simon Memorial Prize, Columbia University; 2003 Director’s Postdoc Fellowship, Los Alamos National Lab.

A more detailed CV of Xuan Gao.


Postdoctoral Scholar


Graduate Students


Arvind Shankar

5th year Ph.D. student
(joined the group in 2017)
Research: Correlated 2D systems
Email: axk961



Brian Holler

4th year Ph.D. student
(joined the group in 2018)
Research: 2D semiconductors, oxides
Email: bah117


Undergraduate Students


Min Gao
Physics Major, Junior
Research: 2D materials and heterostructures


Mingyuan Wang

Personal Website

Physics Major
Research: 2D semiconductor devices





Other Research Personnel



Group Alumni


Chieh-Wen (Clara) Liu, postdoc at Cleveland Clinic

CheeHuei Lee, Lecturer at Singapore University of Technology and Design
Guodong Li, Research associate at Leibniz Institute for Solid State and Materials Research, Dresden
Juan Du, Professor at Chinese Academy of Sciences, Ningbo Institute of Materials
Mohammed Sakr, Associate Professor at Alexandria University, Egypt
Hao Tang, Assistant Professor at Wuhan University of Science and Technology


Graduate Students

Kyle Crowley, Ph.D., 06/2016-06/2020, postdoc at NASA Glenn Research Center

Kasun Presmasiri, Ph.D., 6/2016-10/2019, postdoc at Microsoft Station Q, Purdue University

Shuhao Liu, Ph.D., 6/2014-5/2018, (Thesis: Electronic Transport in Functional Materials and Two-Dimensional Hole System), Sr. Electron Optics Engineer at Hermes-Microvision, Inc.

Sukrit Sucharitakul, Ph.D., 6/2013-5/2017, (Thesis: 2D Electronic Systems in Layered Semiconducting Materials), postdoc at RIKEN, Japan.

Nicholas Goble, Ph.D., 9/2012-1/2016, (Thesis: Electronic Transport at Semiconductor and Perovskite Oxide Interfaces), Senior Quantitative Derivative Associate at Venerable.

Lei (Richard) Qiu, Ph.D., 6/2010-1/2014, (Thesis: Exploring 2D Metal-Insulator Transition in p-GaAs Quantum Well with High r_s),  medical physicist resident at Cleveland Clinic

Dong Liang, Ph.D., 6/2008-1/2012, (Thesis: Semiconductor Nanowires: Synthesis and Quantum Transport),  Sr. process development engineer at Micron Technology.

Chris Reed, M.S., 2015-2016. now a computer engineer.

Undergraduate Students

Runtian Miao,  researcher at CWRU

Axel Gross,  now graduate student at the University of Wisconsin, Madison

Yang Han, now graduate student at the University of Tokyo

Derek Tang,  now graduate student in medical physics

Nic Vogel, now an Executive Consultant at the Arizona Corporation Commission
Shichen Wang, now graduate student at Georgetown University
Ethan Huang, now graduate student at CWRU
Hongyu Chen, now graduate student at Brown.
Jacob Marx, now graduate student at NCSU.
Jacob Arwe, now Physics teacher at Lowell Catholic High School.
Andrew Richenderfer, now PhD student at MIT (DOE fellowship winner).
Meng (Calvin) Shi, now working at Bloomberg.
Stephen Fleming, PhD student at Harvard University (NSF fellowship and Churchill Scholarship winner).
Mike MacDonald, PhD , Univ of Michigan, Ann Arbor (NSF fellowship winner), now postdoc at UC Berkeley.
Alex Bunkofske, REU student from St. Olaf College. Project: top gated nanowire devices (summer 2010).
Jason Mast, REU student from Missouri University of Science and Technology. Project: fabrication of suspended nanowire devices (summer 2009), now PhD student at University of South Florida.
Zach Tobin, PhD student, Caltech Applied Physics.
Corbett Walsh, MD student, NYU.
Lily Stanley, PhD student, Florida State Univ.
Chris Wagner, flight operation planner for the International Space Station at GHG Corporation.


High School Students


Amelia Seger, Hathaway Brown School (2014-2016). Now a student at Washington University

Chris Tung, Hawken School (2016)

Isabel Sands, Orange High School (2014-2015).

Al Shumyatcher, high school student from Hawken School (2015).
Kareem Danan, high school student from Hawken School (2015).
Matthew Zhu, high school student from Hawken School (2014).
Zach Bogorad, high school student from Solon High School (2014), Gold Medalist in the 46th International Physics Olympiad, now a student at MIT.
Brian Gao, high school student from Shaker Heights High School (2014). Now a student at CWRU.
Tim Foster, student from Hawken School (2013).
Abby Cho, student from Hathaway Brown School (2011-2013). Now a student at Carnegie Mellon U.
Miles Bloomenkranz, student from Hawken School, (summer 2010).
Peter Mintun, (Hawken School). Project:assembly of nanowires (summer 2009). Grand Prize winner of 2010 Northeast Ohio Science and Engineering Fair. Now student at Cornell University.


Other Visitors

Prof. Hongyan Yue from Harbin University of Science and Technology

Prof. Naikun Sun from Shenyang Institute of Science and Technology

Prof./Mrs. Mei Liu from Shandong Normal University.
Prof./Mrs. Zhenhua Wang, visiting scholar from Institute of Metal Research, Chinese Academy of Sciences.
Ms. Yuan Tian, student from Institute of Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences
Ms. YanYuan Zhao, Ph.D. student from Nanyang Technology University, Singapore. Now engineer at Intel.